“Ain’t Waiting” – A Lesson in the Moment

One of my favorite workout songs is Boston’s “More Than a Feeling.” I love the tempo shifts and the energy of the lyrics as the songwriter recalls a woman from his past after putting on a record to start his day.  But to be honest, it’s the image of Ewan McGregor running towards a wall at the end of “Men Who Talk to Goats” with the song in the background that gives me the most inspiration. If he thinks he can run through walls, I can make it another 2:15 on the Stairmaster.

It’s no secret that music can unlock our inner muse. It taps into the root and allows inspiration to blossom. It allows our minds to play and our spirits to soar.  I blog to music. I develop websites to music. I vacuum to music.

I recently stumbled upon a song called “Ain’t Waitin'” by the talented singer and songwriter Justin Townes Earle.  It’s a wonderful blend of folk, blues and country mixed with a vivid story about a man’s return home from the road and enjoying his much needed downtime.

It’s Sunday mornin’,
fryin’ chicken
Watchin’ baby workin’
in the kitchen
I got in late last night
And I’m movin’ a little slow


He paints a beautiful picture that evokes all of one’s senses. You can smell the fried chicken, hear the sizzle of the meat as it hits the fryer and see his wife making the Sunday meal for the man she loves. It’s probably a moment he had been missing during his tour and he’s fine just watching it play out in front of him.

So I got a pocket full of money
Shopping I wanna do
I had my sights set on a pair of
white buck shoes
But another day
ain’t gonna hurt a thing
No, baby

Near the end, he lists what is on his to-do list but admits that “another day ain’t gonna hurt a thing.” He’s content for living in the moment. The most inspiring line in the whole thing is how it ends —

I ain’t waitin’ on nobody
Nobody waitin’ on me

When was the last time when you just enjoyed the present, taking it all in and wasn’t trying to look ahead to the next event, item on the agenda or to do list? I admit. I sometimes get lost in what I could use, need to do or must get done. Sometimes I’m looking so far ahead that I fail to notice the smell of frying chicken. Finding My Creative Spark: This week, I vow to unplug from my mental agenda to-do list and just live in the moment for an hour. Whether it is during a walk, sitting at a local cafe. I want to hear the sounds, smell the experience and be touched by the surroundings. I don’t wanna “wait” for the next thing — but enjoy the moment I’m in.

“Ain’t Waitin'” — By Justin Townes Earle (Hear it)

It’s Sunday mornin’,
fryin’ chicken
Watchin’ baby workin’
in the kitchen
I got in late last night
And I’m movin’ a little slow

I ain’t waitin’ on nothin’
I just got nowhere to go

I need a haircut
I could take a shave
I could stand to hear my baby call me
by my name now
Put on a country station
On that satellite radio
Yeah

I ain’t waitin’ on nothin’
I just love her so

Well now I’ve been working
I’ve been gone for a couple weeks
Now I got nothing but time
And the only thing that I’m worried about
Is keeping that woman right there in my reach

So I got a pocket full of money
Shopping I wanna do
I had my sights set on a pair of
white buck shoes
But another day
ain’t gonna hurt a thing
No, baby

I ain’t waitin’ on nobody
Nobody waitin’ on me
No I ain’t waitin’ on nobody
No one waitin’ on me, baby

Leave a Reply

