Fine-Tune Your GPS: Where You Are, Where You Want To Be

“Find your one thing and do that one thing better than anyone else.” – Jason Goldberg, Fab Founder

I recently found myself standing in front of an airport directory, trying to locate the bookstore that the map said was right in front of me. I spotted the little white circle around the text “You Are Here.” The green dot that represented what should be a bookstore was actually a sushi takeout. I double-checked it four times, milled around the small retail area in case I was reading the map wrong and then decided to approached the two women standing under the Information sign.

“I’m looking for the bookstore. Did I miss it?” Turns out, they had no knowledge of a bookstore or when the last time one was in there. When they asked about how I knew of the said location, I pointed to the directory five feet away. Either way, it looked like a trip to the standard Hudson News for my beach read was in store for me.

Perhaps people have a greater bearing within airport security than I do and can find their way without consulting the giant glass encased map. Or, and more likely, passengers wonder around the airport in search of diversion while waiting for their departure time without a specific destination.

I watched the other passengers cruise aimlessly by, meandering into the limited retail options as I awaited for my flight. How many of us spend our lives meandering? Stopping here and there to waste time or money with no real agenda?

In “The Success Principles: How to Get From Where You Are to Where You Want to Be”, author Jack Canfield (co-creator of “Chicken Soup for the Soul”), suggests two lists to help you narrow your life focus and “lock into your destination”: an “I Want List” and an “I Love List”.

The “I Want List”
Canfield suggests making a “list of 30 things you want to do, 30 things you want to have and 30 things you want to be before you die.”

The “I Love List”
If you are like me, you may believe that what you love doing isn’t really a way to make a living. It is this fear that keeps us tucked safe in our 9 to 5 and daily routine. Canfield says to “make a list of 20 things you love to do and then think of ways to make a living doing some of those things.” So, you like sports . . . perhaps a career in coaching, sports writing or even action photography is in your near future.

I will admit. There are times when I fail to do the “activities” suggested in the books I read. Most of the time I write it off as “I get the point” and just plow through the material. But this wasn’t one of those times.

Both were hard to initially get started, but once I warmed up there was no stopping the ideas that came flowing out. I think what shocked me was that the first items on my “I Love” list wasn’t writing but rather trying new recipes. Perhaps I should think about merging my two loves of writing and cooking. I will admit, I was intrigued by the inspiration the practice brought to my awareness.

The two lists can then help you circle the “You Are Here” on your personal life map and insert a green dot to highlight your destination.

“Once you are clear about what you want and keep your mind constantly focused on it, the how will keep showing up.”

Leave a Reply

